Brinsworth Manor Infant School

Help with sounds

Use the links below to help develop your knowledge of the sounds that your child will learn in their phonics lessons.


We follow the Read Write Inc systematic phonics programme. During these phonics lessons your children will learn these sounds in this order:


enlightenedSet 1 sounds (alphabet sounds)

enlightenedSet 1 special friends (sh, ch, th, ng, nk, qu)

enlightenedSet 2 sounds

enlightenedSet 3 sounds

enlightenedAdditional sounds (sounds that are not used as frequently as the others)


Remember that these sounds can be found in your child's new reading diaries!